An Update. Some Word Counts. Thrift Shop Books.


I know I haven’t been around on the blogosphere much lately. I’ve been pretty busy finishing up the first half of my senior year of college, which has been taking up the bulk of my time. Also, I’ve been doing a fair amount of writing, too. As I’ve said in the past, I’m a writer, not a blogger, but that doesn’t mean I need to be neglecting you guys.

But, honestly, I don’t really know what to blog about lately. I’ve been cooped up with myself doing so much writing that I haven’t been checking out a lot of happenings, which isn’t a bad thing, really. So, here’s what I’ve been up to:

  1. I finished the first draft of “The Rotten Apple” (Add it as “to read” on Goodreads!) It’s a few thousand words short of my goal,

    “The Rotten Apple” ready for edits!

    but word count doesn’t make a story. The book came to an end, and I refuse to back and fluff it up just to make it longer.

  2. I’ve gone back to my love of steampunk with a new book. It’s an alternate history book taking place during World War II at the siege of Bastogne. I’m only a couple thousand words in so far, but it’s coming along nicely. Because it’s the same characters in the same setting for an extending period of time, I’m really trying to focus on the characters as much as I can. I know what the climax is, but so far I’ve been leaving the rest up to pantsing, and the characters are developing nicely. It’s current title is Clockwork Winter, which looks like it’s going to stick so far.
  3. I found awesome books at Salvation Army and Goodwill! I’m not  sure why I never checked their for books before. Check it out:

These came to just under $3. (Click to view them larger)

These came to about $12! (Click to view larger)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m currently reading The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. It’s not the usual type of book I read, but I need to branch out and read a larger variety of books. I’m only about 8% through it, but I’m enjoying it well enough. The language and writing are really excellent so far.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to.

What about you? Are you doing anything exciting for the holidays? Did you write something cool? Did you read something cool? Do you have some fun news? Let’s hear it!

3 thoughts on “An Update. Some Word Counts. Thrift Shop Books.

  1. Wowza! Thrifty book score! I’m excited to read The Rotten Apple once wrapped up and ready to go. The WWII one also sounds right up my alley. Congrats on all of the writing kick-ass you’ve got going on.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

