“You’ll Never Get It Out Of Me, Copper! I’m No Rat!”


This is exactly what you might find next to Detective Naomi Blake’s bed. (Image credit Catie Rhodes via WANACommons)

Noire. Not only is it French for black, but it’s also–as I’m learning–a fun genre to write. Crime, guns, sketchy characters, dramatic language, and high-intensity situations. These are just a few of the things that the embody noire genre.


New York City, 1950 — Detective Naomi Blake sits at her desk, itching for a cigarette. Her phone rings. Entrepreneur Mark Falco is in interrogation room one. No surprise. It’s not his first time. The man’s been in drug trouble in the past. However, this time, Falco Corp. trucks were seen making late-night deliveries to an out-of-business warehouse at the edge of the city. But why?

Falco lawyers his way out. No surprise.

Detective Blake steals a cigarette and smokes it outside. It burns. It feels good.

A car pulls up and a woman rushes inside. Naomi follows her. She says her husband is missing. Says maybe “they” took him.

The police station door bursts open, and a man sinks three slugs into the woman’s head, then mysteriously vanishes. Even has time to pick up the shell casings. The work of a professional.

Suspicious activity by Falco Corp. trucks at the warehouse, a missing husband, and a murder. Completely separate events? Or a chain of crime that, if left unpunished, could change New York City Forever.


Eh? What do you think? Pretty cool, huh? I’m having a ton of fun writing it, and Naomi Blake is turning out to be such a great character. I still don’t have a title for it yet, so for now I’m just calling it “Noire.” I’m sure something will come to me eventually.

Noire – Expected publication: January 4th, 2014

One thought on ““You’ll Never Get It Out Of Me, Copper! I’m No Rat!”

  1. I like the snippet, quick paced and I can hear the announcer in my head. I like the fact that you jump from one genre to another, checking them out and giving each one that takes your fancy a try. In my opinion, that is a great way to learn.

    I would recommend (if you haven’t already…) checking out Dashiell Hammett, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dashiell_Hammett. Some of his work isn’t quite so Noire, but the dialog between characters is peppy, snarky, sharp and yet playful. My wife and I love the Thin Man series. Good stuff.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

