Rest? Ha! ; A New Job!


I’ve been working a lot of hours this month at the day job, which is great, because I like money. But it’s not so great because I spend most of the day on my feet, so when I get home I’m always beat. I’d like to get home and get some writing or editing done, but I always end up falling down somewhere and lethargy sets in. I don’t want to get up, or move. All I want to do is play Fallout 3. Sure, I do eventually get some writing done, but nowhere near as much as if I weren’t so damn tired.

I don’t mean for this to sound like I’m complaining, because certainly I should push myself to get some solid work done no matter what, but after weeks of going to work at 7 a.m., and then going in for a shift from 1 p.m. to 9 p.m., and then back in at 7 a.m., and then a day off, and then four days of 7 a.m., and then a day at 5:30 a.m., I’m bound to get burned out eventually. However, school starts back up a week from tomorrow, and it’s the start of my senior year of college! Woo! Well, I’m a bit of a super senior, now. I should’ve graduated last year. Whoops. Either way, I hope it flies by so I can get the hell out of there and start trying to get my life going with a big boy job. No more of this housekeeping stuff for me.

Which reminds me! I got a new job! A paying one. Unfortunately, I don’t think it’ll pay enough for me to quit my current day job, but it is a journalism job. I’m now a freelance correspondent for a nearby newspaper, which is giving me experience in my field of study, (getting a job in my field before even being out of college feels pretty good, too,), and I can build up a solid portfolio for when the times comes where I have to locate a full-time journalism job. At least until I can make this book thing work out. I’ve only worked there for a little over a week, and I covered my first event yesterday–a local fire department celebrated 50 years of service, so I got to go listen to some speeches from some town board members and a woman from the New York state senate–which was pretty fun. I’ve also got two more stories lined up, so I think I’ll get some decent experience from this.

Hopefully I can catch up on some rest pretty soon so I can get back to hammering out thousands of words a day instead of just 500. Not that there’s anything wrong with only 500 words, but it’s not my style, so I’ve come to learn over these years.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

