Saturday Update


Short post today as I get back into the swing of things. I just returned from a brief vacation to Rhode Island, which is always enjoyable. I spent some time with family and hit the beach. It was nice to get away from everything for a few days, except writing, of course.

During those four days away I only wrote about 550 words. However, I spent a lot of those four days thinking about writing. Mostly about Men of Hawthorne. I’m going to attempt to submit this to a small indie press. I’d like to try my hand at something other than self-publishing, assuming it gets accepted by one of the publishers. If not, I will be self-publishing it.

But it’s interesting to think about just how much time I think about writing, because I think about it every day. I think about my characters, or where this particular story is going, new characters, plot twists, character backgrounds, setting, and all of that.

It’s just interesting how much writing has been ingrained into my every day. Even when I’m not physically writing.

8 thoughts on “Saturday Update

  1. I find myself thinking about writing probably as much if not more than the actual writing. Pretty easy to do since I can be engaged in most any activity and still use a few brain cycles for thinking deep thoughts. Gonna get to it a little later today. Where (if you do not mind me asking,) in RI did you go?

      • I know what you mean. We are super keen to get out of Thompsontown. Not exactly the capital of anything fun and exciting. The tricky bit is finding a job and deciding where to go.

      • Right. That’s my main concern. We’ll need to find jobs before we move, but I don’t know of any place that will decide to hire me and wait for me to move when they can just hire locally.

      • I know I can find jobs but the concern is the same. Trying to coordinate a relocation somewhere more than an hour away. Plus timing, I would hate to pull my son out of school in the middle of the year and drop him into a new one with no real time to acclimatize to the place.

  2. Especially since being given my first proper deadline, writing seems to be all I do every minute I have free and invades the rest of the time with day-dreaming and planning. Even at parties at the weekend I’m always just waiting for a chance to talk about it lol! I bet my friends are getting annoyed with me to be honest, but I’m not bothered because I’m enjoying it too much.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

