Monday Updates


After a busy weekend, I finally finished going through every word of Black Powder Brigade. I made a few tweaks, filled a few plot holes, and adjusted a few descriptions, and it’s now in the capable hands of four beta readers, one of whom beta read His Only Star, another whom edited London Darkness: Infernal Inventions, ESTRA Corp., and Bloodcrest, and two of whom are brand new beta readers (one being my wife, and the other Carly from The Creative Cesspool). It’s a good combination of strong writers and readers who will be able to give me constructive feedback which I think will really help me to polish the story to as near-perfect as possible. After all, I’m absolutely convinced that it’s impossible to write the perfect story.

So, for now I’m talking with an artist who will be drawing the main graphic for the cover, and I’m taking a light creative break. I’ll be doing a bit of planning for the next Black Powder Book, which really surprised me. I planned on this being a standalone novel, but the ending didn’t play out like that. However, I do like the idea of another Black Powder book, because I very much enjoy these characters and the flintlock fantasy world. It’s fun writing my own twist on the American Revolution. Right now I have a working title of Black Powder Assassins, which may or may not stick. We’ll see how the book plays out.

And, for the right now; right this very moment, I am watching Dr. Who. And it is brilliant. Really, really brilliant. The concept of Weeping Angles is baffling genius, the dialogue is smart and snappy and witty, and the characters are amazing. It’s almost impossible not to fall in love with the Doctor and his companion.

I’m really, thoroughly enjoying it.

And I shall leave you on that note.

Enjoy your evening. Or morning. Or whatever time it is where you are (for my international readers. The internet is pretty great, no?)

2 thoughts on “Monday Updates

  1. Jolly good show. On all fronts. Looking forward to the release of Black Powder Brigade! Dr. Who is my favorite television series. I’ve been watching it since the 80’s, and I think now with the 11th Doctor the show is hitting it out of the park.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

