Let the Revisions Commence


After months of writing, stress, writer’s block, confusion, and a bit of luck, I have completed the first draft of “Black Powder Brigade.” It was interesting watching this book, and everything within it, develop and change over those months. I’ve really taken a liking to these characters and this world, which I guess is good news, because I somehow left room for a sequel, and even came up with a potential title for it yesterday: “Black Powder Assassins.” It’s interesting how these things work out.

So what happens now? Well, I know I’m supposed to distance myself from this manuscript for at least two weeks, but I know there is work to be done to it, so I should be able to get some revisions completed today, after I suffer through 8 hours of not being able to work on it at the day job. I’m expecting to add at least 5,000 words into this second draft, and I have no idea how many will end up being cut. I’m also not entirely pleased with the ending, so I want to get back to it and work that out. It’s not bad by any means (at least  I hope it’s not!), but I need to rework some character reactions and responses to the final events.

Overall, I’m quit pleased with how the draft turned out, and I’m eager to get back into it now that the hard part is done. Now that I’ve told myself the story, I can go back through it and fine tune the details and descriptions to make it much stronger.

2 thoughts on “Let the Revisions Commence

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

