Still Night


It has been a while since I’ve posted a poem, and seeing as how poetry inspiration struck me last night as I was close to falling asleep, I jotted this down. And I’m very glad I did. I almost decided to wait until morning, but I knew it would be lost forever. I’m not sure if this poem is finished, or if this is just the first stanza, but I really like it a lot so far, and some feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Still Night (Working title)

As we sail into this still night,
white-crested, black waves licking the wooden ship sides,
we hear the distant song of the sea,
and mimic the cries of those lost to the current,
as those wandering souls light the way,
with the golden glow of the shattered moon.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

