Flintlock Fantasy


Book 1 in The Powder Mage Trilogy

Book 1 in The Powder Mage Trilogy

It would appear that I have stumbled upon a somewhat new sub-genre of fantasy called Flintlock Fantasy. I did a generic “define: flintlock fantasy” search on Google, which didn’t yield many results. A good example I found was The Powder Mage Trilogy by Brian Mclellan. Check it out on Facebook, I think it’s going to be brilliant.

So what is Flintlock Fantasy? Well, since I couldn’t find an accurate description (how does one define any genre, really?) the best I can come up with is that it’s fantasy taking place during the time of gunpowder, muskets, cannons, etc. I would say generally around the time of the American Revolution, the New World discovery, pirates, etc, or in a fantasy world with similar technology. (Forgive my lack of foreign military events. I’m sure other things happened in other parts of the world during that time, haha.)

Now, as of late I’ve sort of been jumping around from project to project, doing this and that, and, while I have been getting solid work done on these projects, I’ve come up with some flintlock fantasy that I believe will take priority number one. I’m a little over 5,000 words into it, but I think it’s coming along very well. The premise is Victoria Sorrel is a seventeen-year-old hunter in the New World. She doesn’t much care for her home life, despite the fact that she doesn’t have a bad home life. It’s just not what she’s looking for. Victoria wants action and adventure.

Victoria, operating under the lie that she is a boy, joins a secret group of warriors called (Go to my author page to vote for the name), and helps them search for something “strange” in the forest. Some sort of creatures wrapped in bandages so tightly that even after being shot, they continue running, muskets lowered with hopes they could still impale someone. Creatures with glowing red eyes, and who never retreat, fighting until the last one falls. Creatures that could overrun the New World, and slaughter everyone.

The secret group of warriors gets word that large groups of people have been coming up missing from various colonies, and an unusual number of trade ships have been coming into Boston Harbor. Perhaps these creatures aren’t attacking for pleasure. Perhaps there’s a larger power at work.

Alright, so that is a very rough description of the story, and I’m still working out a lot of the details. I’m fully planning on this to be the longest book I’ve ever written. I’ve never written anything over 55,000 words, so my goal for this one is 55,001, and then I’ll bring it up to 120,000 minimum words. I’m positive I’m going to have a lot of fun with this one.

6 thoughts on “Flintlock Fantasy

  1. Sounds like an excellent premise! I look forward to reading it sometime in the near future. The sub-genre is intriguing too. Definitely a different angle on the fantasy scene. Good Luck!

    • Thanks! I like it especially because it has a somewhat close relation to the steampunk genre, so I don’t necessarily have to learn how to write it. In the next few days I think I’m going to start setting up some deadlines for this. If I’m going to do this full time, I need to start treating it like a business!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

