Does Bestselling Count If It’s Free?


It was far too early in the morning to get a screenshot of Infernal Inventions as #1. So, here's #2 instead!

It was far too early in the morning to get a screenshot of Infernal Inventions as #1. So, here’s #2 instead!

It didn’t take long for me to fall into my old blogging habit of… well… not blogging. Oh well. I’m a writer, not a blogger. I love you guys and girls, but I need to write some fiction! But I’ll be sure to keep you all in the loop.

Anyway, speaking of keeping you all in the loop! I published London Darkness: War of the Devices Saturday! Woohoo!! Go check it out! Yeah, I know, I spaced on blogging about it. But I’m a busy guy, what can I say? Also, because of the book release, I gave the first book in the series away for free on the Kindle. And, well, it blew up! To a certain extent, anyway. Close to 500 downloads, and it reached #15 on the free science-fiction adventure category on Amazon, and #1 in the free steampunk category! So I guess that makes me a bestselling author. A free bestselling author.

Woohoo?

Label it or not, it was pretty sweet.

So now I’m back to work on London Darkness: Automaton Rising, book #3 in the London Darkness series.

I also realized I need to start setting some legitimate deadlines for my work. Not having any agents or publishers shouting at me to get shit done by a certain date is nice, but I’m sure I could work more efficiently if I set some goals and deadlines for myself. Right now I’m like “Psh, I’m a self-published author. That’s the definition of freedom!” When instead I should be like “I’m a self-published author. I need to man up and get some work done in a timely manner!”

So, that’s what I’m off to do. Set some deadlines, write some words, fix up those words, sell those words, and drink some coffee.

8 thoughts on “Does Bestselling Count If It’s Free?

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

