What Springs Your Ideas?


First off, I’d like to thank everyone who downloaded a copy of His Only Star so far. I’m grateful for each and every download and, while I know not all 150+ of you will post a review, it’s still great to know my work is out to some readers. Hopefully what reviews I do (hopefully) get will help generate some sales! The sale ends tomorrow, so if you haven’t downloaded your free copy of His Only Star, don’t miss out!

It’s amazing how hearing one word can send your mind off on such a vivid detour. (Image credit Lynn Kelley Author via WANACommons)

Now that that’s out of the way, what springs ideas you get for stories? It’s interesting how certain words in everyday conversation can create such vivid images in your mind. For example, today I was talking with my wife, and she mentioned something about a monk. I don’t recall exactly what it was, though it was likely something book related. But, as soon as I heard the word monk, my mind immediately created the image of a monk in brown robes sitting in a stone cathedral of some sort. Possibly a hidden underground dwelling. He was sitting at a wooden desk, hood raised (so I don’t know what his face looked like), and he was writing on a piece of parchment with a quill pen. I’m not sure what he was writing, to whom it was addressed, or why, but it was definitely vivid. Perhaps it will end up as a short story or a novella someday soon.

Has this happened to you before? What type of situation were you in? Did a finished product result from it?

4 thoughts on “What Springs Your Ideas?

  1. At the start of the movie 127 hours there’s a sot of some of those wind turbines and seeing them in this movie sparked an idea which resulted in e pausing the DVD until I had written out the scene that had materialised in my head. What I find interesting is that I’ve seen hundreds of wind turbines but this one time it sparked an idea.

  2. I have downloaded His Only Star and can’t wait to get cracking on it šŸ™‚ It will be really interesting for me to read the work of someone who’s blog has been so useful to me! I will certainly let you know what I think.

    As for ideas I find they can come from anywhere. My imagination has really been given a jump-start since I’ve started to work seriously on my current project and I find anything from a piece of music to a photo of a landscape can spark ideas. I also quite often get ideas from dreams. Sometimes they are so vivid and so real, I can’t help but want to recreate them. They can’t often be translated literally into a story (my dreams are far too weird for that) but some of the images and feelings can be so provocative it’s not hard to build up a whole story around the scenes I’ve dreamt.

    I wonder if you ever find, like me, that this can be a bit annoying at times, to have so many ideas? I’m so determined to finish The Road Elsewhere, my current project, but have since come up with two new ideas for two more books. I guess it’s better to have too many ideas than too few but I know I can’t let myself work on them or TRE will get pushed to the back burner yet again!

  3. An image spawned a finished (well, except for editing and reworking some of the ending) novel for 2012’s NaNoWriMo. Congrats on your book! Loved the monk image. Looking forward to see what the character continues to tell you about himself. šŸ™‚

  4. Anything can spur an idea. A person a song a comment someone makes. My problem is never the ideas but narrowing them down so I can manage them.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

