Boy, Marketing Is Hard


Hey, you! Buy my book! I KNOW you’ll love it! (Image credit MACSwriter via WANACommons)

They say the key to an author’s success is writing good books, and a lot of them. I absolutely agree. A reader reads one of your books and loves it, so they go looking for more. Plus, there are just physically more titles for people to stumble upon. However, how do you initially get those first few books out there? I’ll admit that marketing is not one of my strengths. I’ve never really had to do it, so now I find I’m fumbling in the dark, checking my sales every few hours to see the one lonely guy in there, begging me to find him some friends.

This is where I ask for help. What tips and tricks do you have to market your works? Also, what exactly is a blog hop? I see them all over the internet, but I have no idea what it is, or how to start/join one. Do they work?

I have heard, and agree, that one of the best ways to market your work is to become a known member of a community. To be active and gain friends that way. I’m absolutely working on that. And that is probably one of the hardest things to do. People want instant gratification. We want to put a link to our book in a group with 10,000 members and expect each and every one of them to at least click the link, if not go buy our book. It just doesn’t work that way, though. We might get one or two clicks, but in a world also plagued by spam, people see a link from a random person they don’t know, and they either ignore it or report it as spam.

Any advice you could give me would be fantastic, and I would greatly appreciate it. In fact, I could even give you a digital cookie. We all know how great those are!

7 thoughts on “Boy, Marketing Is Hard

  1. I agree. I’m no expert, but I upped my blog traffic by joining blog hops and offering to host writers on blog tours.

  2. It seems to me that you have to engage. Reply to comments. Post comments. Likes don’t seem to be enough. No idea what a blog hop is. Get in touch with local media in your town. They may run a story on you. Good luck!

  3. I know that lots of people post things like “Join my blog hop!” So you can probably join them that way. And starting your own is pretty easy – just send out emails to bloggers you like, asking them to pick a date and post an interview/review/whatever about your book on their blog. Can’t say if they work or not, although, I mean, more exposure never hurt anyone, right?

    Ugh. Marketing is the worst. Best of luck with it 🙂

  4. Good luck honey, but like others have said, it does seem to be a case of building up relationships by commenting, guest posts and blog hops. I’m not an expert, but, I have had a few guests now. The most successful seem to be the posts where you’re offering advice, ie your own experience, and the absolute must do IS….reply to all the comments to your guest post. If you do the guest post and then just leave it up to the blog owner it will look like you can’t be bothered. But if you engage fully with your hosts followers you will pick up new followers, who will hopefully be readers 😉

    Good luck honey xx

  5. Please feel free to share whatever you learn here 😉 I’m hopeless with marketing as well but I think the best way we can get our name out there is doing Twitter, Facebook, Blogging and all this social media stuff. As you mention though, we dont want people to think we are spamming them.
    What you are doing though is exactly right. You are releasing matrial and are talking to people. If you get to know a little about someone you’ll be more memorable then a hundred people just linking their work with each Tweet.

    If I can help spread the word about your work let me know 🙂

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

