An Open Letter To Those Who Raised Me: Thank You


I’d like to take a brief moment to acknowledge those who have helped to mold me into the creative being I am today. They helped me more than they know.

  • Thank you to my family who let me play outside. This helped me to act out everything in my imagination. Giving me a sort of “real world” experience.
  • Thank you to my family who let me spend hours playing video games. This built up my imagination and allowed me to see things in a new way. To see story lines and characters, and learn how to weave them together.
  • Thank you to my family who let me express myself creatively.
  • Thank you to my family who encouraged me to read.

I remember one particular time when I was about twelve or thirteen years old, I had written a short story. I left a copy of it on the table, and my step-dad (who is a sports photographer, go check out his website!) picked it up and gave it a read through. I remember him telling me that he enjoyed them. Later, he read through a writing assignment for a class, and helped me fix some awkward phrasing. It is things like that, even though neither of us knew I would end up being a writer, that helped to mold me. It helped to fuel my interest in writing.

So, again, to those who raised me. Thank you. It is because of you that I’m able to do what I do. It is because of you that I can call myself a professional writer.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

