Proof Is In The Mail; Stuck In A Slump


Today is both a good day, and a not so great day. I wouldn’t say it’s a bad day. Not by a long shot. In fact, today is more good than not so great.

(I love a good list!)

  • Good thing #1: The proof copy of “His Only Star” is on its way! In fact, I just received the email saying it’s shipped. I’m very excited about receiving it. Holding it in my hands. Looking at my name printed in big white letters along the bottom of the cover. Seeing my words sprawled across each and every page. It’s very exciting. It’s also on Goodreads! So be sure to go add it as “to-read!” For those of you who missed the excerpt, check out Chapter 1 here!
  • Good thing #2: I’ve found some direction for “Dirigible Air Corps: Dreadnought.” I had an epiphany this morning which helps me give the novella some structure. I also realized that the only steampunk thing about this novella is that they’re on a dirigible. That hardly makes it steampunk. I need to jazz it up with epic inventions, and faith in technology. Hopefully I’ll get some planning done today. However, I need to continue working on edits for a friend. I really need to work on that.
  • Good thing #3: My wife and I helped my dad paint his dining room ceiling. Not writing related, but still nice. It was good to spend some time with him. We usually spend more time with my wife’s family.

 

  • Not so great thing #1: I’m in somewhat of a slump. I’m finding these slumps occur sometimes, and are impossible to predict. I just don’t feel like writing. I know I need to get some writing done. And there is editing to be done, both on my work and a friend’s. However, the excitement isn’t there. I think I may just be a little burned out. I hammered out “His Only Star” and over 20,000 words of “Dirigible Air Corps” with almost no break, and now I’m just a little wore out. This will be a good chance to get some reading done. I’m stuck in the middle of the “Leviathan” trilogy, the “Divergent” trilogy, “The Lunar Chronicles,” and “The Vampire Chronicles.” I have a lot of reading to get done.

But, for now, it’s Saturday, it’s unusually warm for this time of year, and I have my coffee. I might just take this day for me.

7 thoughts on “Proof Is In The Mail; Stuck In A Slump

  1. Seems all writers have a thing about lists.

    Take the break, let plot lines mull over in your mind (I actually love house painting because it frees the mind to dwell on stories). Use the time to read. No pressure to write, but keep a note book and just jot down dot points (or even better- lists!) when you’re motivated.
    Excellent news about the book–I’ll check it out.

  2. I know how you feel Chris. I’ve just come out of a slump and I’m slowly easing back into editing. Don’t feel bad about not writing. All of a sudden you wont be able to stop yourself writing again 🙂

  3. Hopefully you get out of your slump soon. I’ve been sick lately and just haven’t had the energy to write, so I know how it feels to just not want to produce. I hope you don’t get burned out though!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

