Update: Coming Soon: “His Only Star”


Sorry I haven’t posted lately. I took a few days off to spend with some semi-distant family to celebrate the past holiday. Overall it was a good time. Although, as we were about two minutes from the driveway after an hour and forty minute drive, we realized we forgot the presents. Oops!

Anyway, on to the update!

There’s been a slight change of plans. Remember a short while back when I held two votes on the names of Project Oliver? Well, with the help of Karen Rought (Super amazing! Go check her out!) after she beta read the book, she helped me to come up with a solid title for it. I threw a couple names at her, and she picked the one she liked the best. After a little deliberation with my wife, as well, we came up with “His Only Star” which I feel is very fitting title for the book. I believe I’ve also come up with what is essentially the finalized back-cover description.

“Do you ever look at the stars and wish you could snatch them out of the sky?” Oliver asked. “You know, to keep in a box all for yourself?”

“What would you do with a box of stars, Oli?” Trista asked. 

Oliver shrugged. “I don’t know, change the world?”


When fifteen-year-old Oliver sneaks away on a train with his friend, Trista, he discovers that life has more to it than the small world he is trapped in. It’s full of sex, drugs, and danger. But, before Oliver can come to terms with these, he must first learn that everyone has their demons, and he must come to accept them.

But what if it’s too late?

Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions? I think it came out pretty well. I’m also very excited that I created a cover for it. I didn’t use the models for it. However, I think I’m going to release a second edition of it with a cover using the models, and maybe some bonus stuff in the back. Who knows? I’m also going to keep the cover a surprise until it’s published. I think it’ll be fun! But I have to say, I really like it. It’s simple, but I think it fits the book really well. I’m sure you all will love it.

This book should actually be published in the next week or two. Exciting, right? Here’s what one of the beat readers said about it:

“I really, really, really, really, (can I add a few more?), really, really enjoyed it. Like, a lot. …I read this all in one go. I couldn’t walk away from it. It was so, so excellent.”

After reading that, my day was pretty much made. It also motivated me to get to work on it, seeing as how I’m still waiting on the cover for the second London Darkness book.

Speaking of that, I’m hoping to get that book out this month, too. I’m still waiting on the updated cover design. And, well, I’m getting pretty frustrated. I’ve been waiting for a few weeks to see it, after being told I’d only have to wait a day or two. I know the artist has been busy with his personal life, and I did win the cover in a contest, but it’s getting a little ridiculous. However, I don’t want to continually pester him about it. I don’t know. The cover is great, and I can’t wait to show it to you all. I just hope I get it soon.

I’m hoping that I created a little buzz about “His Only Star.” I’m quite positive this novella is my best piece of fiction so far. It’s straight YA fiction, and I think and hope you’ll all love it (or those of you who enjoy YA, anyway). I’ll keep you all posted as the date gets closer. I’m just waiting to hear back from another beta reader or two!

5 thoughts on “Update: Coming Soon: “His Only Star”

  1. Sounds promising. This is your YA effort, right? It’ll be good to get a decent male MC written by a male writer within that genre… I think it might work really well for you.

  2. Sounds good to me! The title does evoke a bit of romance — will that be present in the book as well? Otherwise I will feel misled, and I will sadly have to swear eternal vengeance on you and your kin. And you don’t want that, trust me!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

