2013 Writing Goals


It would appear that the current trend is to inform the world of our writer goals for the new year, so I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon, even though the bandwagon is technically a fallacy. Say what? Never mind. On to the goals!

(Goals are listed in the order I intend to finish them in, but are subject to change.)

1) Publish “London Darkness: War of the Devices.”

  • I’m just waiting on the updated cover design, then I have to do a final read through and everything should be just about set. I can’t wait to get this out to you guys!

2) Finish and publish “Dirigible Air Corps: Dreadnought” novella.

  • I’d like to have the first draft finished by the end of January, with the goal being about 30,000 – 40,000 words. It’s currently at about 10,500, so I think the end of January is a realistic goal. If I work diligently I believe it will be published sometime in 2013. Perhaps around July or August.

3) Publish “Oliver” novella.

  • This is currently in the hands of the beta readers. I’m hoping to have it published by March or April. I have a photographer and models on standby for a cover shoot, I’m just waiting for the weather to improve a little bit. It wouldn’t make sense to have a snow-covered background for the cover of a book that takes place in the middle of August!

4) Finish “London Darkness: Automaton Rising” manuscript.

  • I have about 15,000 words of this completed, and am aiming for 100,000+ words. This will be the longest book I’ve written, and I’m determined to reach that goal. Every time I try to write that much I always get stuck and the book finishes around 45,000 – 50,000 words. Not this time! 

5) Finish and Publish “Dark Angel” short story series.

  • I haven’t talked about this much, but I think it will come out really well. It’s my first attempt at horror writing, and if you recall the short story I posted “Headless Angel,” that is story #1 in the series. I believe there are seven stories in it that will range anywhere from 1,000 to 5,000 words each.

That should just about cover my major writing goals for 2013! I feel like it sounds like a lot, but I think if I stay focused I can do it. I’ve decided that I want to publish one novel and three novellas/compilations a year. I think that will provide sufficient output, and keep me plenty occupied. At this rate I won’t be participating in NanoWriMo next year either! But I suppose we’ll see. Luckily I have a head start on most of these goals, so that should make things easier.

Have you set your goals for 2013 yet?

12 thoughts on “2013 Writing Goals

  1. I’ve always wondered why people shoot for certain word counts rather than just seeing where the book ends up going? I’m a major pantser so I’ve never been able to set goals like that and follow through with them. I’d really like to know what purpose it serves and if it helps!

    • I guess it started with my first NanoWriMo. Writing 50,000 words in a month gave me a goal to work toward. After that I was just programmed to set a word count and go for it. I’m absolutely a pantser too, and if I don’t reach those word counts I don’t worry so much about it because I know the story is still done. Sometimes I go way passed the set count, other times I don’t come close. It just seems to be the common trend, and it works for me. If not setting a word count works for you then that’s perfect! Whatever helps you get the words on the page. 🙂

  2. For some bizarre reason, every book I write ends up being ~120k words long. I have no idea why. Maybe my mind just works in 120k segments. Of course, the finished products always end up much shorter, but for first drafts, that’s just how I roll 🙂

    Also, good luck with your assorted projects! I have a feeling you’re going to be very busy in 2013, lol.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

