Gifts Given To A Writer


The holidays are over, the gifts are given, and everyone is happy. Well, hopefully everyone is happy, anyway. I do believe I made out quite well this Christmas.

I’m a firm believer that books are one of the best gifts you can give a writer. Writers, such as myself, are starvings artists. So, sometimes money is a bit too tight to buy books. But this year my family really came through for me. I didn’t get a lot of books, but I got books I really wanted, which is so much better. In this case, quality is much better than quantity.

 

Image via Amazon

Book #1: Behemoth by Scott Westerfield

Given to me by my beautiful wife, Behemoth is book #2 in the Leviathan series, and I can’t wait to dive into it.

 

 

Image via Amazon

 

Book #2: On Writing by Stephen King

I’ve wanted this book for some time, and now that I have it I’m having a hard time putting it down. Knowing how Steven King made it big is really inspiring. And, while I know that just because this way worked for him doesn’t mean it will work for me, it’s amazing to know that King went from a broke, married, father of two to the greatest horror writer of our time.

Image via Amazon

Book #3: Ernest Hemmingway: On Writing

I didn’t know this book even existed until I received it as a gift, which, if it’s half as good as King’s “On Writing” I’ll be more than pleased. This book, while only about two hundred pages, is full of hints and tips for writers, and is also full of quotes by other famous writers. This is another book I can’t wait to read.

All in all it was a successful Christmas. Presents were exchanged, and I got to hang out with my wife’s side of the family. I still need to visit my side of the family, most of whom lives a distance away from us, which means more Christmas excitement still lies ahead!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, and I hope a happy and successful new year awaits.

Did you get any great gifts for writers? Did you give any great gifts for writers?

2 thoughts on “Gifts Given To A Writer

  1. As a matter of fact I did! I receive the. Omers boxed edition of the manga: Nausica In The Valley of the Wind by Hayao Miyazaki, for my birthday (21st) The Immorality Engine by George Mann, and I am almost done reading it, and I received one super special volume: The Newbury and Hobbes Annual. Limited to 100 copies it is a collection of games, recipes and short stories also by George Man . Ooh yeah I also received a copy of The Art of My Neighbor Totoro.

    Merry Christmas everyone!

  2. Books really are the best gifts. I’m kind of known in my family for being the book giver and my two kids have scores of books lining the shelves from such gifts over the years.

    I just finished reading Leviathan and really liked it. I have Behemoth lined up in the TBR pile. I hope it’s as enjoyable as the first one. Stephen King’s book is, as I’m sure you’re finding out, fantastic. I have several quotes from it tacked up on my bulletin board over my desk. I’ve never read the Hemingway book, but now I’m intrigued.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

