Let’s Talk Tuesday: The Name Advantage


Suppose you are a huge Stephen King fan. You go onto Amazon and search for him; but, instead of finding his Dark Tower Series, or “It,” you find a book by another man named Stephen King. Do you check out his books? Or, do you skip by them and go for the Stephen King you know?

Today’s topic is about writers with the same, or very similar names as famous authors. Do you think they have an advantage over the others? Should these writers use their names to help market their books? Do you know anyone with the same name as a famous author?

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Tuesday: The Name Advantage

  1. I just looked up my name. Looks like there is only one me. I know in my professional ethics class in law school there was specific rules on what you could and could not name your law firm. You couldn’t call your firm Abe Lincoln and Associates unless you name was Abe Lincoln. I guess it would depend on what your name was and what the book was about. Maybe Adolfo Hitler from Seattle Washington’s new romance novel might not do so well.

  2. Hmmm, interesting question. I tend to go with what I know – but if the ‘other’ *insert authors name here*’s book looks interesting, I’d give it a go. The author I’m reading at the moment is Chris Carter and there is another guy with the same name but he’s involved with the X-Files. Now, I had no interest in the X Files (should I say that out loud…??) and the only reason I picked up my first Chris Carter novel was because of the title. I was sold after that. For me, one had nothing to do with the other.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

