Hidden Treasures


As many of you may already know, I’m getting married at the end of next month. The centerpieces for the tables are going to have two stacked books on them. The book on top will have the center cut out and have plants in them. Well, of course, we needed to find some books.

A few months ago, my local library had a super book sale, and the maid of honor picked up for very cheap. So, we lucked out there.

When we began looking through the books a few days ago, we discovered that there were some that we absolutely could not cut! (The books in the picture to your left).

The book at the top left is called “Poetry of Youth: Selected and Annotated by Dewin Markham.” I thought this was very cool because not only is it copyright 1935; but, it contains poetry by Lewis Caroll, Edgar Allan Poe, William Shakespeare, and many others.

The blue book under that is “Contemporary Japanese Literature,” copyright 1977. I thought that was pretty awesome because I’ve never read Japanese literature, so perhaps it will be interesting.

And the rest of them are volumes 2 through 14 of “Great Debates in American History.” These are the oldest of all the books we found at copyright 1913. As far as I know, I’m only missing the first volume. But some of them could be fairly interesting. The topics are:

II: Foreign Relations: Part I
III: Foreign Relations: Part II
IV: Slavery from 1790 to 1857
V: State Rights Slavery Secession
VI: The Civil War
VII: Civil Rights: Part I
VIII: Civil Rights: Part II
IX: Departments of Government
X: Economic and Social Questions: Part I
XI: Economic and Social Questions: Part II
XII: Tariff and Taxation
XIII: Finance: Part I
XIV: Finance: Part II | Indexes

Pretty interesting, eh? Whether I actually read them? Who knows. Either way, they’re still pretty cool to have; and will look very cool in my future library someday.

Have you found any literary hidden treasures? Are they worth anything? Do you still have them?

7 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures

  1. Thanks, Steven! I hope to get to the Japanese literature pretty soon. However, a lot of things have been put on hold because of the wedding. But, I suppose it’s much better than not reading and writing as much due to laziness.

  2. My husband’s mom left him these little pamphlets called “Men of America” About 50 or so baseball card size pamphlets about famous men throughout history, such as Theodore Roosevelt and Colonel Charles A. Lindbergh. There’s even a little box that looks like a book to keep them in. They’re pretty funky!

  3. I have the first volume of David Wingrove’s Chung Kuo series – with signature of David Wingrove – that I picked up second hand. I just can’t prove if it’s his. Would love to know!

  4. I have what is supposed to be a first edition of Arthur Miller’s The Crucible I bought in a charity shop for £40/about $27 sadly the first owner had the urge to write their name in it

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

