Let’s Talk Tuesday: POV


Sorry about the late post, and the lack of posts. My wedding is less than two months away and things are getting crazy. Plus, I gave myself last weekend off. A weekend to myself to relax and not stress about anything. Unfortunately, no writing occurred during those two days; but, I’m not worried about it. Anyway, it’s Tuesday, and that means it’s Let’s Talk Tuesday.

POV

I’ve heard other writers say how choosing the point of view (POV) of a story is one of the most important things you can do. Whether it’s 3rd person, 1st person, or even the uncommon 2nd person.

Personally, I almost always write in 3rd person. I think it’s because just about every book I’ve read has been in the third person. The only first person books that come to mind are The Hunger Games. I feel comfortable writing in the 3rd person. However, I do feel that writing in the 1st person can give the reader a bit more insight of the main character. You experience every thought, movement, and idea of the character. However–if done correctly–the same thing can happen in 3rd person.

So far, the only real 1st person writing I’ve done is in my blog series, Blood on My Hands. Hopefully I’ll be uploading the next installment soon!

Do you have a particular POV that you like to read and/or write in? Have you tried 2nd person POV?

8 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Tuesday: POV

  1. I’ve never tried 2nd person, because whenever I read 2nd person I think of those Choose Your Own Adventure books, and I can’t take anything seriously. My personal favourite is 3rd person, because I love fantasy, and basically all fantasy is written in 3rd person. But Hunger Games did get me more into 1st person. I’m giving it a try right now for a novel I’m writing, but I’m not sure how it’s going. Only time will tell.

  2. Congratulations on your wedding being so close. I bet you’re excited. πŸ˜€

    I tend to use 3rd person limited, but sometimes I use 3rd person omniscient. Once and a while I’ll use 1st person, but that’s super rare.

    • Thanks! I am quite excited, ha. But I definitely can’t wait for it to finally be here so I can be done with the stress!

      And I too rarely use 1st person. I’d like to do a bit more of it, though.

  3. I usually write in 3rd, but, just recently I’ve been experiments with 1st, and actually, I really like it. It seems more personal, like YOU are the narrator, acting as the character. I like that πŸ˜‰

    Have never tried 2nd though, maybe I should πŸ˜‰

    Xx

  4. I just started a first person story. Though the prologue was 3rd. It just seemed the right way to go, I can’t say that I made a real conscious effort to decide between the two. The 1st person voice lends itself to what I am trying to accomplish with this story, and it makes sense in terms of the main character’s experience. It will be interesting to see how this goes.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

