Character Interview: Wendell Reed–London Darkness: Infernal Inventions


I had the idea to interview some of the characters from what I write. I think this will be a fun way to look into each character individually and see who they really are. The interviews will take place during their lives either in, or before the story they are a part of. Enjoy!


I set out for the evening looking to talk a bit, but spend more time listening. I didn’t have anyone particular in mind, but I knew whoever I picked would have some story to tell, or so I hoped. I kept my black notebook in my back pocket, amd twirled a quill pen between my fingers as I walked. The night was mostly clear, and the clock tower, frequently known as “Big Ben” was nearing midnight.

As I walked, I spotted a gnome walking in my direction. He had eagerness to his step, as if he had some place to be. He tossed what looked like a small package into the air and caught it again as he walked. He was the first person I spotted, so I knew I had to stop him.

“Excuse me,” I said politely with a smile.

The gnome stopped and stared at me, almost as if I had just awakened him from a daze. “What is it?” he asked. His tone was harsh. “I’m in a bit of a hurry.”

“Would you mind if I asked you a few quick questions?” I asked. “It’ll only take but a moment.”

“Actually, I do mind,” the gnome snapped. He shoved passed me and stomped down the sidewalk.

“Wait!” I called after him.

The gnome stopped again and whirled around. “What in the blazes do you want? I told you I’m in a hurry.”

“I assure you it will only take a minute or two.”

The gnome looked at the package in his hand and stuffed it into one of his many pockets, and approached me. “Well?” he said irritably. “Get on with it then.”

I slid the notebook out of my back pocket and flipped the leather cover off the blank first page. I felt such an eagerness to fill the page with words. I flipped a small, circular cover off of the built-in ink well at the top left corner of my notebook and dipped the sharp point of my quill pen into it.

“Firstly, what is your name?” I asked.

The gnome grumbled. “Wendell Reed.”

I scribbled his name down on the blank page. I received a feeling of satisfaction now that the blank page finally contained some writing. “Where are you off to on this fine evening?”

“Like that’s any of your business.”

I stared at Wendell.  “Where are you off to?” I repeated.

“You sure seem to be thick headed. What does it matter to you? Are you from the post?”

“No.”

Wendell eyed me carefully. “If you must know, I’m on my way to a friend’s. His birthday is in just a few minutes. I really don’t intend on being late, either.”

“Are you an inventor?” I asked as I wrote down his response.

The gnome paused, seemingly caught off guard. “Indeed I am. Say, you’re not from the League of Inventors are you? Ryker wouldn’t like me talking to you.”

“Are you on your way to meet your friend Ryker?”

“Perceptive, aren’t you.”

“I assure you I’m not from the League. Does Ryker not care for the League?”

Wendell looked at me for a moment. “Ah, right,” I said. “Why else wouldn’t he like you talking to members from the League? Why don’t you work for the League? What does Ryker have against them?”

“Bloody hell, I don’t know. I tried to get him to join but he wouldn’t hear a word of it. He always mumbles something about his mum.”

“Does he not like to talk about her?” I asked.

“Certainly not. He had a pretty rough childhood. Or so I imagine. He doesn’t like to talk about it.”

“I see. Would you be able to take me to your friend? I would love to ask him some questions as well.”

Wendell snorted. “I don’t think so.” He looked up at the clock tower. “Bloody hell, I’m going to be late. Er, well, early, but late. Are we about finished?”

“Absolutely not,” I said. “But I don’t wish to hold you back from your engagement.”

Wendell grumbled and ran down the street into the darkness.

I wrote down a few more notes, mainly of Wendell’s features and a few further questions. “Until we meet again,” I said softly, and closed my notebook.

4 thoughts on “Character Interview: Wendell Reed–London Darkness: Infernal Inventions

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

