There’s No Community Like The Writing Community


For the record, I love Calvin and Hobbes. I read them as a child, and have them tattooed on my arm. Such great comics

I’ve been taking my writing seriously for a few years now, and I feel like if I were to meet with many of the writers whose blog I follow, or  who I’ve met on WANATribe, (Which I’ll talk about shortly), they would be some of the best friends I could have.

Many of us writers have a certain way of thinking, and have gone through many similar experiences that I think allows us to connect in an amazing way. We’re willing to help each other, to give feedback, even to buy each other’s books just for support.

In a way, it’s like soldiers sharing a battlefield together. You go through enough experiences like that, you connect and grow closer. Just as if a soldier lost a friend in combat, I can’t tell you how upset I’d be if one of my fellow writers/bloggers gave up on writing. And you know damn well that I would do everything to convince them to get back into it. Even if they just need a short break.

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. Author Kristen Lamb is developing a wonderful website known as WANATribe. She’ll actually be guest-blogging about it in the future. However, this is a brilliant website where writers, artists, dancers, and every other art form can get together and connect with each other. They can share ideas, and use other’s art forms to influence their own work. It’s a truly fantastic idea, and it is growing quite rapidly. So, please, do go check it out and register. I actually run the Science-Fiction/Fantasy/Steampunk Tribe there.

It’s quite easy to see that writers, and even other artists are some of the most supportive and helpful communities out there. Who else would sacrifice their own time where they could be writing toward their own hopeful fame, to help out another writer? I certainly don’t mind taking a break to help a fellow writer.

In closing, I’d like to thank all the writers and artists out there who work so hard to not only make themselves great, but to make their fellow artists great.

Image Source

11 thoughts on “There’s No Community Like The Writing Community

  1. I would go as far to say that I would not have grown as much as a writer, if it were not for the community of writers I have met online. As Chris said in this post, the communities are helpful, friendly, influential and inspirational. I have learned where some of my technical weaknesses are, which would have remained unnoticed by me if not for the writers I have met online.

    I have noticed too that genre does not seem to be a barrier at all. Helpful advice and feedback come from all sorts of sources. Some of it even comes with perhaps greater clarity. I would be a drift without the writers I have met, and I look forward to long and rewarding futures with them.

    • I absolutely agree. I’ve had writers from other genres give me feedback, and sometimes it can be more helpful than those who do write it in because they have a completely fresh perspective on it.

  2. Hey Chris, this post sums up most writers that I have met online perfectly. I used to be scared that someone would steel my ideas but I’ve not connected with anyone that I feared would do that. Its a very strong community which is getting more and more stronger the deeper I get into it. Great post mate 🙂

  3. I think the first time I started a novel-length project and saw it through to completion was during nanowrimo. It proved to me that I COULD do it too. the Nanowrimo community was a huge part of that. You’re right, writers are a distinct breed, and we go together well. P.S. I also love Calvin and Hobbes.

    • I’ve heard on several occasions that NanoWriMo has been a turning point for writers. That it helps them, like you said, prove that they can do it. I think that’s a wonderful thing. Writers are always looking for new ways to stay inspired and motivated, and I think that is certainly one of them.

  4. I’ve only been blogging for 3 months or so and what I’ve learned in these 3 months has been priceless! And it’s all due to everyone I have ‘met’ online through blogs like yours, Vikki’s, Stevens….and the list goes on. I can’t believe how selfless everyone I have come in contact with has been. Thanks for being there, Chris. You are a true inspiration! 🙂

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

