Please, Don’t Lecture Me


I was having a discussion with Deb on my author fan page about whether it was easier for us to write academic papers, or write fiction; and I mentioned how I wanted to teach a Creative Writing class at the college level in the future, just as a side job. While discussing this, I came across the discovery that when I teach students, I will refuse to use the lecture method.

I mean, how many times have we been forced to sit through classes where the teacher simply talks at us and reads from a slide? This is most definitely no way to teach.

Teachers, especially English/writing teachers need to make sure that they make their classes as exciting and engaging as possible. If they don’t, how can they possibly expect the stereotype that reading is boring to ever go away? Sure, reading isn’t for everyone I suppose. But, that is no reason for a teacher not to give their best attempt to make it as exciting as they can.

Students need to be engaged in the material to learn it; we all know that. So, instead of lecture, I would definitely incorporate feedback groups for the student’s writing. I would make sure they write something every day, and get feedback on it. Writers need to write every day. I will always encourage students to come to me for feedback and help whenever they need it. Young writers, (myself included), will always need some guidance to become better writers. It is near impossible for them to do it on their own.

What about you? Do you prefer the lecture method? What are some ways of being taught that you enjoy(ed)?

Image Source

3 thoughts on “Please, Don’t Lecture Me

  1. I think the key, for any teacher, is to try to find the students’ talent and encourage it. Particularly in high school, when teenagers are dealing with all the pressures that come with that time of life, what they really want is acceptance and encouragement. ANY hint at potential talent should get a pat on the back and an encouraging word, lest it be looked over and allowed to slip away.
    There’s nothing wrong with warning kids with a creative bent that they may have to carry on their passion as a hobby for a while, but they shouldn’t be told to just “Get a real job”. No … “Get a job that will allow you to do what you really love until, hopefully, what you really love starts paying the bills.”

  2. I have never cared for lectures. I think the teaching, learning is about doing. Active skills such as listening (I believe you can be an active listener) engaging experiences and trying. If you do not succeed, try again, make adjustments, grow.

  3. Having been on both sides of this conundrum, I think that it all comes down to personality. I’ve been privvy to some fantastic lectures, where every word is gold and the time passes so fast it’s astounding. I’ve also seen students lapse into a coma when lecturing style has been really bad. Active learning is great but way more time consuming than lecturing. Mix and match might be a solution… 😀

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

