That’s it… I Quit!


No, I’m not possessed by a demon; so before you begin prepping for an exorcism, allow me to explain.

For those of you who don’t follow Kristen Lamb’s blog, you absolutely should. She has amazing writing tips, and is the author of best-selling books: We Are Not Alone—The Writer’s Guide to Social Media and Are You There, Blog? It’s Me, Writer.

Just yesterday, I read her post “The Secret to Success-Quitting.” She made some very excellent points about how, in order to succeed as writers, we have to quit. We have to put aside those ideas and projects that are causing us problems and holding us back, and move on! There was one particular thing in her post that really stuck with me:

If we have to defend and justify what we are doing there’s something wrong.

I often times find  myself having to justify, especially to myself, how these books are worthy of being published and sold. To be completely honest, sometimes I feel undeserving of my published status. But, I can attribute that to over-excitement. I mean, come on, I just wrote a book! That’s kind of a big deal to me, at least.

Now, I’ve messed up, in a way. I was flipping through a copy of ESTRA Corp., my first novel, and I noticed so many things that I could have done so much better. I know I’ve become a much better writer since then, and if I were to try and fix up the many things that I would like to, let’s just say I’d be better off rewriting it. So, let’s consider that Quit #1. ESTRA Corp.–retired. For now, anyway.

Quit #2: Some of you may remember my post “Line by Line, One at a Time,” about how I received my first bad review of my novel(la), Bloodcrest. Now, at that point, I was a better writer than when I had written ESTRA Corp., and I know I’ve improved since then, as well. I would have an easier time reworking Bloodcrest than I would ESTRA Corp., but, I can’t have these works out there potentially tarnishing my status as a writer. Bloodcrest–retired. For now, anyway.

On to where I’m at now. I’m working on a strategy, of sorts. I feel really good about this London Darkness series I’m working on, and I think the first book turned out really well, and I look forward to publishing it in the future. I developed a strategy for when I write now, that looks something like:

  1. Write first draft
  2. Read over first draft for typos, story, and style flaws
  3. Send to editor
  4. Read through edits and make changes regarding editor input
  5. Another full read through
  6. Send back to editor
  7. Read feedback and make changes
  8. Publish(?)

Also, I’ve received some good feedback on the two monologues that I’ve posted, the excerpt from London Darkness: Infernal Inventions, and I’m going through some final changes on the short story I’m working on, based on the second monologue, Pa and Me. In between edits of Infernal Inventions, and work on London Darkness: War of the Devices, I’ll be writing some other monologues and short stories that I will be posting on my blog for free. I think this is a fantastic way to get some of my work out there, and will hopefully encourage them to look into my longer works. I’ve heard on more than one occasion that writers should give away short stories when someone buys their books.

So, in closing, I think that retiring these works, and giving away some free short stories will help me as a writer, and I look forward to seeing some results.

2 thoughts on “That’s it… I Quit!

  1. Wasn’t Kristen’s blog just fabulous? I kept nodding my head because I completely understand – I quit my first novel (for now) a month or two ago. Sometimes you just have to dropt he dead weight.

    Also – “War of the Devices” is *such* an awesome title.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

