I Never Was Very Good With Names


Let me start by saying a  huge thank you to everyone who gave me feedback on chapter 1 of my third novel! It really means a lot to me, and I’m glad you all enjoyed it!

Now, here is my dilemma. I’m bad with names. I forget people’s names all the time until I see them a few times. I remember faces quite well, but not names.  This is especially a bit of an issue with my third novel.

I really love the name Infernal Inventions. It’s fitting for the book, because it is about inventors, etc.  However, that is dangerously close to The Infernal Devices series. I don’t want there to be any confusion, or I don’t want people to think I’m ripping off The Infernal Devices, because I am most certainly not.

However, a lot of people have told me that they like the name London Darkness; even more people than those who voted for Infernal Inventions. So, I’m stuck. I like the name London Darkness, but not as much as Infernal Inventions, and it’s not quite as fitting for the book. But, I don’t want any problems or accusations if I do use the name Infernal Inventions.

On  side note, if you have trouble with names as well, especially characters names, this random name generator has helped me on several occasions. http://www.behindthename.com/random/

Am I worrying too much? Have you had a problem like this before? Which name do you like better?

Image Source

8 thoughts on “I Never Was Very Good With Names

  1. I like Infernal Inventions. Then again I always had a thing for alliteration so I’m probably being bias. London Darkness doesn’t roll of the tongue nicely.

    Don’t judge me but I don’t know anything about Infernal Devices so I didn’t make any connections with that. There are plenty of books with not just similar titles-they are exactly the same!If its in a different genre I wouldn’t worry too much…

  2. I think your right it is too similar, you want your book to stand out. London Darkness doesn’t sound quite right either…..but take your time, the name of your book is important, and not something to be rushed! 🙂 I would play around with the London bit or the Darkness bit and see if you can come up with something a little more inventive/eyecatching. Like Nisha said, alliteration is always great! 🙂

  3. Ok, Infernal Inventions is pretty darn cool. London Darkness is as well. I hate to pander, but if this might be one of a series or even just stories from the same time/place, how about… London Darkness: Infernal Inventions. Series are quite popular and having a neat umbrella title to work under is useful. Think Cherie Priest and her Clockwork Century books. Or my recent thought up: The Ciriculum Vitae of Ignatius St. Eligius. Yes I like my cake and eating it too.

    • That is… well… brilliant! That would allow me the freedom to make it a series if I wanted to. Which, actually, doesn’t sound like a bad idea. I love this, and I really can’t thank you enough for suggesting it!

      • No trouble at all. I know a lot of authors in the Steampunk genre seem to do this. I think it is part of the genre, harkening to peddlers of snake oil, charlatans and women of various moral qualities.

  4. It looks like you may have already found a resolution for your dilemma but I thought I’d throw my ideas into the ring in case you’re still brainstorming…

    I agree with what the others have said about steering clear of Infernal Inventions, though I, too, have a weakness for titles with alliterations; it’s just a bit too similar to what’s already been done. You want your book to stand out in the crowd, right? Right. I also agree with the others about London Darkness lacking that all important “ring” to it.

    Though I’ve only read the first chapter and don’t have much to go off of, the imagery of the cog tattoo seems to be both important to the main character and also really stuck with me as the reader. Plus, nothing says “steampunk” quite like a cog does (at least in my mind). I thought it would be really cool to incorporate the word “cog” into the title. Not knowing what the book is really about, I came up with a few ideas using “cog” based off of the titles that you already have: Cogs of Darkness and Cog Forsaken. I suppose I also have a thing for wordplay 🙂 Good luck!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

