Line by Line, One at a Time


Wow, is all I have to say. Not even the good kind of “wow!” But the kind of wow that makes you want to go back in time, slap your former self in the face, and just scream “what is wrong with you?!”

One of the wonderful followers here at Write to Perfect gave me an opinion on my book, Bloodcrest.

WARNING: BAD PR AHEAD

The review really knocked me down a step. However, despite the fact that the review was far from good (It was well written of course), it gave me some insight on myself as a writer. And, I’ve learned something important that I will fix immediately.

I rush things far too much. This is generally how my writing/editing/publishing goes.

  1. Write the manuscript
  2. Send said manuscript to my editor
  3. Review edits
  4. Make minor changes
  5. Skim through the second draft for last minute typos and story flaws
  6. Become overwhelmed with excitement because I finished a book, (hardly).
  7. Publish to Lulu
  8. Get a disappointing review

Like I said before… Wow… Right? I don’t even know how I could allow myself to do such a thing. The fact that I just willy-nilly put my work out there, basically unfinished, for the masses to spend their hard earned money on, is horrible on my part.

Now, before you unfollow my blog and start shouting from the rooftops how reckless of a writer I am, allow me to say that this is the last time that will ever happen. Honestly, the time has come for me to become a real writer. It’s time for me to stop playing games, and stop thinking that I can just pump out all these books. I’m completely embarrassed that I have done such a thing, and that I have put my own name, and my editor’s name in jeopardy. I promise you, gentle followers and readers, that you can expect better from me in the future. You can expect good, quality, completed work. I will be going back through Bloodcrest and scouring each page, paragraph, line, word, and punctuation mark, until I deem it finished. I refuse to let any of you down as readers, and I will do my best to ensure that if you are going to spend your hard earned money on me, it’s going to be worth it.

Image Source

8 thoughts on “Line by Line, One at a Time

  1. Good luck, Chris! 🙂 I’m glad you found the positive in a negative review – that’s an awesome trait to have as a writer! (I’d probably curl up in a little ball under my desk and refuse to come out for a few weeks.)

    • Well I did quite a bit of sulking at work this morning, ha. But the more I thought about it, the more I thought, “How can I make a positive thing out of this? How can I use this to make myself a better writer?” And that’s what I came up with!

  2. Make mistakes. Get better. That’s what life is about. Glad you’re not beating yourself up, but walking forward and fixing your mistakes. Too many people sulk and argue and never learn anything. It’s nice to see you’re not doing that. Good luck!

      • When i get my first bad review I’m going to frame it! lol Its good that the story is solid, the rest you can learn 🙂 I remember people saaying Tom Clancy’s stories were great but the technical side was not the best. Look how well he’s done 🙂

  3. Wow, I can’t seem to get my book to the first battle because I spend so very much time editing and re-editing. Perfectionist and fast, that would be great! Tough brake on the negative feedback there, but that’s actually the kind I love! It makes me fight! If you want drop me some negative criticism so you can redeem the power. Ha ha.
    I like your argyle sweater 🙂

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

