Steampunk Fiction!


I’ve recently discovered steampunk fiction, and I’m quite intrigued.

From Wikipedia: “Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fictionfantasyalternate history, and speculative fiction that came into prominence during the 1980s and early 1990s.[1] Steampunk involves a setting where steam power is still widely used—usually Victorian era Britain or “Wild West”-era United States—that incorporates elements of either science fiction or fantasy. Works of steampunk often feature anachronistic technology, or futuristic innovations as Victorians might have envisioned them, based on a Victorian perspective on fashionculturearchitectural styleart, etc. This technology includes such fictional machines as those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne, or the contemporary authors Philip PullmanScott Westerfeld and China Mieville.

Other examples of steampunk contain alternative history-style presentations of such technology as lighter-than-air airshipsanalog computers, or such digital-mechanical computers as Charles Babbage and Ada Lovelace‘s Analytical engine.

Various modern utilitarian objects have been modded by individual artisans into a pseudo-Victorian mechanical “steampunk” style, and a number of visual and musical artists have been described as steampunk.”

For as long as I’ve been writing, I’ve really been strictly a fantasy and sci-fi reader and writer. However, I love the idea of steampunk. I’ve always been a semi-secret fan of the Victorian style, and I think it would be really interesting to check it our further.

I think I would very much like to try my hand at writing steampunk. I think it would allow me to take my sci-fi writing to a new level. Even right now I’m thinking of combining sci-fi and fantasy with steam-powered mechanical dragons, and crazy inventions by Gnomes – fantasy’s inventors.

If anyone has any recommendations for good steampunk books I’d be very interested in checking them out; so please let me know!

Image Source

4 thoughts on “Steampunk Fiction!

  1. I just recently discovered Steampunk, too! I’m thinking about writing a short story in that genre, just to try my hand at it. I just need the right subject. There’s a cool website called Xerposa.com that is a collection of all sorts of Steampunk stuff. You might find something inspiring there. (And mechanical dragons sound AWESOME.)

  2. I can recommend the anthology of short stories edited by Kelly Link and Gavin J Grant called, simply, “Steampunk!” as a good introduction. Not all of the stories are strict steampunk, but they give you an idea of what scope the genre has (which is pretty huge).
    I became interested int he genre because of my softspot for the Wild West. In fact, I started writing “Fantasy set in the Wild West” before finding out there was a name to go with it. So, I’ve done a bit more studying since then.
    I would also recommend possibly watching the early ’90s TV show “The Adventures of Brisco County Jr”, as it was rather steampunk – it even had a “mad scientist” characters … and a man from the future. Time travel seems to feature a lot in steampunk stories.
    Other than that, go back to the classics mentioned in the Wikipedia article.

  3. Wow… I didn’t know that sort of books had a genre of its own. Have you read His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman? Those books are awesome. It’s a trilogy, if I remember correctly.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

