Luthor the… Potato?


If anyone has scrolled down a little ways here, you may have noticed a little potato looking fellow diligently typing away at a computer. I’ve decided to name him Luthor, who is actually the main character in my next novel – Bloodcrest: The Ancients. As you can see from the counter, I’m aiming for 100,000 words for this book.

But, what is really cool about this little guy, is that he comes with eight different emotions, depending on how I’m feeling while writing (He’s currently on #6 – Working at novel):

0 Very frustrated
1 Ready to shoot computer
2 Shocked at what’s written
3 Sleeping
4 Watching TV
5 Logical & Calm
6 Working at novel
7 Joyful

While this may not be one of the most graphically complex word counters, I think it definitely is one of the coolest and most fun. I think it actually has, in some way, helped to inspire me to keep writing. I love watching that little pile of papers in the “NOVEL” box increase in size. I wrote those 10,042 words in two days, and I’m only on chapter four of the book, which leads me to believe that I’m putting in a lot of details. Or, I hope I am anyways.  I’m also pretty excited that I’ve been able to think of enough plot points and details to write a little over 5,000 words a day. Usually I have to be at the peak of inspiration for me to do things like that. Hopefully, this will continue.

In closing, I encourage everyone else to give this cool little counter a try. It’s really easy to use, and can be put on any website or blog. You can find further instructions on how to use it here: http://www.writertopia.com/toolbox

Enjoy, and happy writing!

7 thoughts on “Luthor the… Potato?

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

