When to Create an Author Page?


https://encrypted-tbn3.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSsHtMWMcC9RoYoizcXgdV7pGmu9Rtw2eU6elpRAE1ZaBekPLNxThe answer to this question has eluded me for the past few weeks. At what point does an author create a “fan” page?

As we all know, social media is one of the most popular things on the internet right now. Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and so on. There are so many ways for people to advertise, it can sometimes be hard not to get overwhelmed. Facebook is one of the most popular, if not the most popular form of social media out there, and everyone has the option to create their own “page.” I’m curious as to when an author should create this page to help get their name and work out?

I don’t want to come off as arrogant and make people think that I created a page about myself because I want everyone to know how cool I am. But a lot of authors have fan pages and hundreds, if not thousands of likes. I simply would use it as a way to, I suppose judge how popular I am, but only as a way to see how well I’m doing among the rest of the competition. But I mainly want it as another way to communicate with any fans I may generate, and it’s a great way to advertise and get information out in a clear and organized manner. On the other hand, I suppose an author can really call themselves popular when other people begin making fan pages about them.

If anyone has the answer to this question please don’t hesitate to fill me in!

Image Source

8 thoughts on “When to Create an Author Page?

  1. That’s so weird because I also wondered about this as well!

    I’ve seen many authors and bloggers who have created pages for themselves and even after a considerable amount of time, they only have 30-50 followers. This made me wonder why they created the page in the first place. They should have just stuck to their normal FB personal profile where they probably have way more friends, who can support them.

    I think its important to ask yourself why you want to create a separate page and what purpose it would serve you. If you dont like the idea of exposing your personal FB to complete strangers and would like a separate page just for engaging with writers and potential readers(fans!), then I say go for it.
    And I totally agree. You know you’ve made it when someone else creates a fanpage for you πŸ˜‰ I pray for that day… LOL.

    Ps. I awarded you a Liebster Blog Award btw. Congrats!

    http://nmwritersbloq.wordpress.com

  2. Hey man,

    This is something that I often think about but I always come back to the comclusion that I havent had anything published yet. A friend said I should make a ‘Fan’ page anyway, using the ‘Fake it Till you Make it’ mentality. But I still go back to the not having anything published argument. Even if its a self published book its still out there.

    I agree with having someone create a ‘Fan page’ for one as well. That is deffinetly the goal.

    Enjoying the blog Chris :0

  3. Make a fan page for yourself as early as you can. The only requirement is a sense of commitment. This isn’t something you want to make and then give up on in a few weeks. I don’t think it would make you seem arrogant at all. Facebook is an AWESOME social media tool. I think you’re right in saying that it is one of, if not THE, strongest tool out there. You’d be silly not to use that to your advantage. Even if you only have 30-50 fans, that’s still one more way to connect to a whole other part of the internet that may not be on Twitter or may not read your blog posts. Besides, everyone has to start somewhere. You might as well jump on the train early.

    I would go follow Kristen Lamb’s blog if you haven’t already. The questions you ask yourself are the ones that she answers. She’s got some e-books out too (on sale for about $5 each, so they’re affordable) that are full of great advice for bloggers and writers in general. She talks a lot about social media and how to make it work for you. She’s also got some online classes for “creating your author platform” and making sure you’re doing all the right things. She’s all about self-publishing, too. Great, great tips from her.

    Hope that helps!

    • I do follow her blog, and she’s very helpful! I’ll probably start my fan page tonight, actually. You’re right, I should get all the platforms out I can!

  4. Hi Chris (and everyone else)! I just want to agree with midnight and stress that it is never too early to make an author page on facebook, twitter, or any other social networking site you enjoy – so long as there is commitment. Having some level of self-advertising going is never a bad thing when/if you start talking to agents about your former, current, and/or future works. It shows that you have a desire to reach out to the market and are willing to put in at least a little work yourself.

    However, that doesn’t mean you aren’t creating an obligation to anyone and everyone that follows your page. Even if it’s just 1 or 2 people – they are people who have taken the time to follow you. Planning regular updates (even just one sentence a month like “up to 38,000 words on X Novel”) makes for a great start.

    No one should view you as “uppity” for creating a page, either. Writing novels is not a game – it’s a job (to a degree). A labor of love? Sure, but I don’t know any novelist who wouldn’t want more people to read their work. Using social networking sites is not only a way to stay in contact with your readers, it’s a form of marketing – always remember that. And since your product is yourself you should always be mindful of what you put out there.

    Best of luck to you and yours!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

