My First Second Draft… Huh?


I’m currently working on my first attempt at the second draft of my first novel, (so many firsts and seconds!), and I must say that so far it’s going a lot better than I thought it would.

I received the last chapter from my editor and was pretty excited to start the second draft. However, the more I thought about it the more I just wanted to continue working on my second novel.

But, last night I finally found the ambition to start going through the edits and notes from my editor. I’m starting by fixing the basic grammatical errors and minor story flaws so I can get them out of the way, and then I can start working on some of the other issues.

So wish me luck as I grind my way through my novel, trying to make it as perfect as I can. I find that I’m becoming more tired as of late, and I hope it doesn’t change my ability to notice errors and critically analyze my thoughts and ideas.

3 thoughts on “My First Second Draft… Huh?

  1. I’ve been searching high and low to find a quote to share with you that is so perfect for this blog post. But. I. Can’t. Find. It.

    It doesn’t make as much of an impact if I summarize, but here it goes: Writers work and work and work on a project. The pour everything into it. It is their child, their true love, their entire world. You send this out to agents and it gets rejected 10, 20, 30 times. By then, you give up and move on to your next project. You pour your heart and soul into that and your PREVIOUS novel gets picked up. You no longer care about it, you care about this new project more, but you know that you can’t just say “no,” so you agree to publish the other one.

    I know exactly how you feel. My first novel is almost done – and I DO love it – but I’m working on another one and it’s almost becoming more exciting to write for this second one. Sometimes I feel guilty for working on one and not the other!

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

