What’s that? More about Inspiration?


The holidays have come and gone, and I have to say my urge to write has been lacking the past few days. I could attribute this to the holidays, but I’m not quite sure. This morning while working was the first time in days I actually had the inspiration to write anything. But, like usual, work got in the way of that.

Luckily for me though, when I do sit down and write I generally write up to 3,000 words in a sitting. This allows me a few days leeway in case I don’t have time, or simply lack the inspiration to knock out a chapter or two. I generally try to write at least 1,000 words a day.

I know I talk about inspiration a lot, but without it a writer has an exceptionally difficult time being successful at their craft. This makes me wonder about what type of inspiration past writers had – before they could simply watch a movie or television show. I’m assuming their inspiration was knowing they were writing about the flaws in their society, (i.e. The Jungle). I’m sure other writers, including play-writes, used their abilities to amuse crowds with their comedy and satire, and used that as their inspiration.

It makes me wonder what types of social issues I could base a novel about. There are a plethora of societal flaws that people could write such wonderful satirical pieces about. My personal social satire inspiration is Mark Twain. Even if I’ve never read a ton of his works, he still was one of the literary geniuses of his time, which is inspiration in and of itself. Surely there was a ton of things wrong with society that it gave him plenty of inspiration to write – which is why he was such a successful writer.

I feel as if I’ve started to ramble. Also, my exhaustion is beginning to make all these paragraphs blur into one large sentence, so I must depart. I hope I have allowed my readers to explore the concepts of writing satirical literature, or have at least inspired them to some extent.

I wish everyone a safe and happy New Years.

Cheers

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

