The Change in People Intrigues me


The way in which change can be truly amazing. While I know that “one person” is not the definition of “people,” I’d like to use myself as an example.

During my childhood, I was the kind of person who might occasionally pick up a book for a few days, but somehow it would get lost among my other things, or I would simply get tired of reading it, and my book would go days, weeks, or even months without being opened; rarely did I ever finish a book. However, I was no stranger to writing stories.

I’d written my fare share of short stories – fantasy stories with dragons, knights, and magic – that were inspired by whatever video game I happened to be playing. I almost reached novel range with on particular story. I would always brag, (that’s a poor word to use), to my friends about how I was working on a story that was over 30 pages in length, at 8 point font – Arial Narrow. But, I lost that story, which at the time upset me greatly. That’s the price I paid for not backing it up on my flash drive. But I digress.

After that, I always thought I could never write another story of that length, or I thought I didn’t have the time. Plus, I was still “finding myself,” into about my third year of college. I was actively writing on Runner’sWorld.com’s “The Loop,” a personal blog where you can talk about your running, experiences you have while running, and other things to keep you inspired to continue your running. It was after this that I decided I wanted to be a sports writer, and write for Runner’s World Magazine.

But, that ended quickly.

During my first semester at Brockport, my second college, I started writing for The Stylus, which is Brockport’s student-run newspaper. I wrote for the sports section, but as a commuter I never had the time to actually attend any Brockport sporting events,  nor did I really watch any professional sports, due to my lack of cable television. So, I wrote about what I knew: Mixed Martial Arts. This went okay for a while, but I don’t think the students cared much for it, so my journalism, and my writing in general slowed down.

*Here comes the cliche* – But then, I had a dream. Literally, I had a dream. I only remember one particular part of the dream, where I was in a shack being chased by very tall, pale men. They wore black suits, black hats, and drove a simple, small, white hatchback car. They wanted me for some reason, and someone was trying to keep me in hiding. The particular shack we were hiding in had two old people – a man and a woman – and their dogs, which were covered in blood that I assumed was their own, but they were alive and happy. Somehow, this inspired me to write my first novel.

So, I set out writing. I opened my laptop and started clicking away at my keyboard. Somehow, I managed to turn that sliver of my dream into a decently coherent story, and a few months later I had finished my first manuscript: ESTRA Corp.. After that, I was positive that I wanted to be a writer.

I always feel joy, pride, whatever you may want to call it when someone asks me what I do, and I tell them, “I’m a writer.” I always feel like that impresses people, mainly because they give me the reaction and impression that they have been thoroughly impressed. One guy even told me that he didn’t expect me to say that because, according to him, most kids my age don’t want to do anything with their lives. And, in my particular town, that is the case sometimes.

So, therefore, I am truly intrigued at just how much I have changed over the years. Changing from someone who picked up a book on occasion, and would read maybe a chapter every few days, to someone who has developed an immense passion for literature, has written the manuscript for one novel, is currently working on another and has decided to go to graduate school for creative writing.

11 thoughts on “The Change in People Intrigues me

  1. Congratulations on deciding to attend grad school to get your Master’s. You’re definitely a step ahead of me. And I can tell you one thing for certain – introducing or describing yourself as a writer is a HUGE step in the right direction. A lot of “aspiring” writers don’t do that, and that’s a mistake. Just read a blog post all about that, actually (http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/aspiring-is-for-pansies-tough-love-being-a-writer/). Bravo, and keep writing.

  2. I just read that blog you talked about, and that really is great information! Never will I refer to myself as “aspiring.” I don’t have time to “try” to be writer. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. 🙂 I was over the moon when I friend from my day job introduced me to his new girlfriend, “This is Lindsay, she’s a writer”, even though he’s worked with me at my day job in tech support as long as I’ve known him. It’s cool to know that other people know that the writing is far more who and what I am than the job I get paid for. I’m sure he has no idea how awesome that made me feel.

    • That’s awesome! Unfortunately, my current line of work doesn’t have the most educated of people, so when I tell them I’m a writer they’re immediately blown away by such a concept. “What!? A 21 year old boy like to read AND write!?”

  4. Wonderful! Its great that you are taking your passion seriously. Some people have the passion but no drive, no staying power.

    Dreams that inspire/result in stories fascinates me. I’m writing a story now that was a result of a dream. It’s a very surreal experience working on it, dont you think? Your dream sounds very creepy-in a good way(!), I would love to read the story itself…
    PS. In response to the above comment, even educated people get blown away when I tell them I’m a writer. The most irritating however, are those that have no reaction at all. They just give you this deadpan look and say, “Oh, okay.” As if every second person they know is an author! 😛

  5. Good luck, Chris (and yes, I dropped the whole ‘aspiring’ thing after reading Kristen’s blog post, too!). You’re off to a great start!

    I was interested in your dream, because it reminds me of paranormal encounters with ‘men in black’. You can find more on that at mysteriousuniverse.org (which has a *way* cool podcast on the paranormal).

    I also had a dream of sorts, which started me on this path. Unlike you, I never tried to write a thing until this year, and now I have two unfinished first drafts – my novel about a man named Steven Canelli, and my nanowrimo novel, which is a fantasy piece about dragon-like beings called Umgonnan. LOL I mean, where the heck did *that* come from!

    In any case, I could also blog on and on about the changes that I’ve gone through in my 54 years – so who knows where you’ll be in another 33? That’s the fun of it, reinventing yourself keeps you young.

    Again, best of luck to you, writer friend!

    • Congratulations on starting your novels! It’s a ton of work but extremely gratifying! Best of luck on your future books! Your fantasy book sounds like it would be quite interesting! The novel I’m currently working on is a fantasy novel.

  6. Best wishes on your writing career! You have a whole lifetime to develop it. I envy you. When I was our age, I listened to “them,” and took the “safe” way–a career in teaching. Don’t let anything stop you from following your bliss. You can do it!

  7. Impressed, and slightly jealous, that you discovered your passion so early. Well done, also, on your manuscript-writing. You sound very professional in your efforts – a manuscript in a matter of months? Amazing. I have little doubt we’ll be seeing your name in a book store before long.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

