Official writing prompt #1!


As the name of my blog implies, I’m a believer that if you practice something enough, eventually you will get pretty good at it. You might even perfect it! So, I thought I would help my fellow subscribers and even my new readers get in some practice with your writing – like you’re not already busy enough with your own works.

I like the idea of posting some writing prompts. I’ll probably do this once a week, or once every few weeks, and I might even contribute to the stories a little myself sometimes.  It would be great if each contributor could write 200+ words, but don’t feel obligated. Just write what comes naturally.

Hopefully together we can come up with some great ideas, and get some creative juices flowing. Or, at the very least, these will prove to be a good warm-up before working on your own stories.

So, here’s the situation:

Michael sat in his 5th grade history class, falling asleep as his teacher explained the Spanish Armada. When his eyes were almost completely closed, and his brain was ready to go on the wild adventure that his overactive imagination always took it on when he slept, the principle made an announcement over the P.A. system.

“Attention students,” he said, his voice was grim. “I have an, unusual announcement. It appears that, well, time has run out. I don’t mean that you are all late for something. I mean that, literally, time has run out, and ceases to exist.”

Michael lifted his head from his desk. Was he dreaming? He looked at his teacher. She was staring in awe at the clock. The hands on the clock were stopped at 11:59 and 59 seconds.

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

