Living vicariously through books… What a way to live


I’ve found myself to be especially inspired as of late. For the last two weeks of National Novel Writing Month, I hadn’t written a single word. I found myself so busy that I had no idea just how long it had been since I had actually written. However, while at college one day, I just opened up my novel and started working on it. One of my friends whom I happened to mention National Novel Writing Month to noticed and said to me, “November is over, man.” This got me thinking. I informed him that just because November is over doesn’t mean I have to stop writing. That made me realize that writing is really what I want to do for the rest of my life. I love it.

I love being able to mold stories in my mind and coherently write them down. I love knowing that I have complete control over every event that happens in a story. I have the power to mold and change and create the lives of every single character in any book that I write. I love knowing that I have the ability to communicate my own ideas to the masses in a way that, (I hope), entertains them. In a way that keeps them turning to the next page and wanting to know more; wanting to know what happens next.

In a way, I’m essentially playing God with my stories. I have the ability to kill off a character, or make them the unsung, underdog hero. It almost gives writers a sense of power. They may not be able to control what happens in their own lives, but having the ability to create a world unknown to anyone else is a gift that should not be taken for granted; a gift that should be cherished, and should be used to mold worlds of adventure and danger, allowing the reader to explore worlds that they could never dream. A world where they can lose themselves in their own imagination, guided by the author, and live vicariously through the characters.

This is my goal for the future. I’m vowing to give my best efforts to entertain the reader. I’m vowing to never stop writing, and to never stop my imagination from running wild, to provide the best, most interesting story that I can provide to my readers.

In closing, I can only hope that any of my readers continue to find my works enjoyable, and that they return to see what more I can offer for them. I can only hope they may spread the word about me, and that they will never lose faith in me as a writer.

4 thoughts on “Living vicariously through books… What a way to live

  1. I’m very happy that you’ve found your calling Chris!

    I love the way you describe what its like to be a writer. Like a sorcerer conjuring up a world out of nothing and wielding power over that world. Such powerful metaphors, its makes me proud to call myself writer!

    All I can say is, dont ever give up the writing, and I’ll be here cheering you on with my pom-poms! πŸ˜€

I know you have thoughts, and I want to hear them...

